Flex Traffic School   |   8910 N Dale Mabry Hwy. Ste 8 Tampa FL 33614   |   Phone: 813-935-9200

Email us

info@flextrafficschool.com

Call Now

813-935-9200
Mon - Fri 9am - 5pm

Saturday 9-12

Sunday CLOSED

 
Flex Traffic School offers flexible scheduled courses

What are the steps to becoming a licensed Florida driver?

STEP 1:

If you have never held a regular driver license in any state, county, or jurisdiction, you must complete a Traffic Laws Substance Abuse Education Course (T.L.S.A.E.) before applying for a Learner’s license in the state of Florida.  The minimum age to be eligible to complete this course is 14 years and 6 months, however, the person must be 15 years of age to be eligible to complete the Learner’s License Test.  Driver Education is also a pertinent component of becoming a safe driver.  (NOTE:  If you are under the age of 18 and are not married, your Learner’s License or Operator’s License must be approved by one parent or legal guardian.)

STEP 2:

Once a person has reached the age of 15 years, he or she may test for the Florida Learner’s License.  This examination may be taken at the Florida Safety Council online, if the person being tested is less than 18 years of age, or in person at the Florida Safety Council main office.  After successfully completing this examination, the person shall report to the local DHSMV or Tax Collector’s office in order to have their picture taken, legal residency verified and to receive the actual license.  (Note:  The DHSMV/Tag Agency reserves the right to randomly re-test any person before issuing the license.)

STEP 3:

Any person under the age of 18 must maintain the Florida Learner’s License for a period of 1 year from the date of issuance.  If a person has reached 18 years of age, they may proceed with the Florida Driver License Examination.  Please refer to the Florida Gather Go Get page for information pertaining to the identification requirements at http://gathergoget.com/Offices/default.aspx.  When completing the Florida License Examination, a person is tested on the following maneuvers:

  • Turn About (Three Point Turn)
  • Shifting Gears
  • Approaching of a Crossing
  • Observation of Right of Way
  • Straight-In Parking
  • Parking on a Grade
  • Stopping Quickly
  • Backing
  • Obeying of Stop Signs
  • Signal and Turn
  • Passing
  • Staying in Proper Lane
  • Following at a Safe Distance
  • Usage of Proper Posture

Florida Traffic School

Online Traffic School Classes

Learner Permits Frequently Asked Questions – Florida Only.

Why should I go to traffic school?

There are three (3) good reasons to attend an approved Florida Traffic School class.

  • Your insurance company cannot legally raise your rates or refuse to renew your policy solely because of this non-criminal traffic infraction. (Per Section 626.9541(1)(o)12, Florida Statutory Laws.)
  • Zero Points. When you receive a traffic ticket, points are assessed against your driving record. Attending a class will prevent the ticket from appearing on your official Florida driving record as points.
  • If you are ordered to attend traffic school by a court, you must attend in order to keep your license from being suspended or revoked.
-top-

How many days do I have to pay my ticket and attend a traffic school?

You have 30 days to pay the ticket. We recommend that you take the class before paying it. That will allow you to pay your traffic ticket and provide a copy of your traffic school Certificate to the court as a completed package.

However, the State of Florida does permit you to pay the ticket first and then you will get an additional 30 to 60 days to go to a traffic school, depending on which county you received your citation. We strongly encourage you to check with the Clerk of Court in that county to find out the time you are permitted after paying your ticket.

Remember, if you elect to attend a traffic school class , you must attend a traffic school and complete the class before your due date. Failure to complete a Florida traffic school will result in:

  • You are subsequently adjudicated guilty.
  • The points will be added to your Florida Drivers record and stay there for 3 years.
  • Your “Safe Driver” is removed from your record and the infraction is reported to your insurance company.
-top-

What if my deadline for completion of traffic school has passed?

See above. However, you can contact your Clerk of Court office to see if there is any consideration for an extension of your due date if you “elected” to complete a DDS class. We cannot extend your due date –Only a court may grant you that privilege.

If your requirement to complete a defensive driving school course was court ordered and your due date has passed, you need to contact the Clerk of Court office as soon as possible. Within a short period of time (often the next day), the county will begin the suspension process by notifying the Florida DMV of your delinquency.

-top-

How quickly can I finish a course?

The classes are designed for four (4), eight (8), or 12 hours depending on which course you need. If you choose the online class, they are designed to take the same equivalent time as a traditional in-class traffic school but you work at your own pace and from any computer connected to the internet. There is no maximum time to finish an online course; only your court due date determines when you are required to finish.

-top-

How can I pay for a course?

If you attend a Live Class at FLEX Traffic School you can pay by cash or money order. Your payment is due on the day you attend class.

When you choose to attend an Internet Class, you can use your Credit Card or Debit Card. After you fill out the registration form, you will be linked to a secure credit card processing page. The payment site is encrypted to make your online purchase safe.

-top-

How do I register for a traffic school class?

While “Walk-In’s” are always welcome on a space available basis for a Traditional class, we encourage you to reserve your seat by pre-registering. Students can Register for a Live Class Seminar using our convenient Online Form or Contact us for addition information.

Registration for an Internet Class is also simple. You click on the appropriate button below and you will be taken to the Virtual Test Center’s registration page. Just complete all the appropriate fields and you can get started immediately. You may also call NTSI Support at 1-888-312-6874 during normal business hours, and register right away over the phone.

-top-

Are there any special computer or download requirements to take an online class?

No special downloads are required. Our Online courses will operate on standard PCs or Macs that are connected to the Internet. A PC or Mac Running:

  • Windows 95/98/NT/ME/2K/XP/Vista or later
  • MacOS 9.x/OSX — Must use Firefox (Safari will not work)
  • Linux 2.2+

Internet Browser (Your browser MUST support and have JavaScript, Cookies, and Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) enabled. Most PCs are pre-set for this configuration.)

  • Internet Explorer 5.5+ (Win)
  • Firefox 1.0+ (Win/Lin/Mac)
  • Mozilla 1.75+ (Win/Lin)
  • Opera 1.5+ (Win/Lin)
-top-

How long does it take to get the Completion Certificate?

When you attend traffic school at FLEX, your Certificate is provided on the day you successfully complete your class. FLEX is linked to the Florida DHSMV via the Internet. We print the Certificate for you to give to the Court and provide another copy for your records. There is no additional cost to you.

When you take an online class, your certificate is sent electronically to the email address you provide during registration — also for Free (other schools charge an extra $8.00 to $10.00 as an Expediting Add-On Fee to email your certificate). After passing your final exam, you will receive your Certificate the following business day. Certificates are processed 2 times a day, Monday through Friday (excluding Holidays). (A $10.00 Expediting Fee is charged if you need your Certificate processed immediately after passing your final exam.) You can print it from any computer and send it to the clerk of courts where you received your citation.

If you do not have a printer and attend an Online Class, you can elect to have your Certificate sent by regular USPS mail at registration time. If you need it rushed, call NTSI at 888-312-6874 during normal business hours after you have completed your traffic school class. A small fee may apply when you need the Certificate Expedited.

-top-

What if I have no e-mail address?

You do not need an e-mail address to take our online traffic school classes, but it is the quickest way to receive your Completion Certificate. (Our Traffic School Completion Certificates are emailed to you for Free.) Correspondence can be printed directly from the course screens. On the registration form under E-mail Address, click on the no e-mail button, if you do not have one. Another option is for you to use a relative or friend’s e-mail address.

-top-

Can I use someone else’s computer or Internet service?

You can take our online traffic school courses from home, work, a friend or family members house — ANYTIME — 24/7. Whatever computer you use, you just need Internet access that is not blocked by your Network Administrator. You can start on your own computer and finish on another.

-top-

Must I complete an Online Class in one sitting?

Online Traffic School classes are designed for the person who does not have a lot of time. The courses are broken up into sections and you can log off and then log back in at a later time. The computer records the section(s) you have completed. You can log on and off as many times as you wish until you complete the class. You can also do the entire course in one sitting — it is up to you.

-top-

I have already enrolled. How do I get back into the online class?

If you have already enrolled, you have a username and password, and can Login as often as you need to complete your course. If you have forgotten or lost your username or password, call our NTSI Technical Support and National Call Center at 888-312-6874.

-top-

I just got knocked off line in the middle of a section. What do I do now?

Internet users sometimes are knocked off line. This may result from a lost Internet connection, another call interrupting your connection if you are on a single line with call waiting, or simply because your computer crashes. Remember, as you complete each section of the course, your progress is logged. Completion of chapter one, for example, cannot be lost if your answers are submitted to the system and graded. Being knocked off line at any point will bring you back to the start of the next unfinished chapter — it will not delete previously completed chapters.

Our website is unable to control your Internet connection and inactivity on your part will not result in our system knocking you off line. Any activity requirements will be on the part of your Internet service provider.

-top-

What happens if I fail the final exam for the online class? Can I take it again?

See the table below for your internet course. Listed is the Total times you can take the final exam for your class.

 

Driver Improvement Course

Times to take Final Exam

Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) and T.C.A.C. Class (4 Hour Traffic School)

3

TLSAE Class for New Drivers (4- Hour)

2

Intermediate Driver Improvement Class (8 Hour Traffic School)

3

 

-top-

What happens if I fail a security question when I try to Log In? Can I continue with the class?

The security questions are used to ensure that the proper individual is taking the class. You have 30 seconds after the security question appears to supply a correct answer. If you answer incorrectly or take too long to answer, the course will be “locked” for 24 Hours. If the class does not “unlock” after a full 24 hours, call the NTSI technical support center at 1-888-312-6874 for assistance.

Please note:This process will reset the timer for that module back to 0 (you will have to retake that course module).

-top-

How old do I need to be before I can sign up for any of the courses?

Under Florida DMV guidelines, you must be 14 years old or older to sign up and complete a driver ed learner permit course. You may not apply for your learners permit until your 15th Birthday.

-top-

What do I need to bring with me when getting my learner permit/driver license?

The DMV requires that you bring the TLSAE/4-hour drug and alcohol awareness course certificate and the identification documents listed in the front of the Florida Driver Handbook to their office to purchase the Learners Permit license. We have included an excerpt from the Handbook regarding the required identification documents below. Florida law requires identification, proof of date of birth and social security number (if issued), before a driver license or identification card can be issued. Each U.S. citizen who applies for an original driver license or identification card must submit one of the following three documents:

  • Original or certified United States birth certificate, including territories and District of Columbia; or
  • Valid United States passport; or
  • Certificate of Naturalization

You must also submit the original or certified copy of one of the following:

  • Social Security Card.
  • School record stating date of birth, which must contain the registrar’s signature.
  • Transcript of the birth record filed with a public officer charged with the duty of recording certificates.
  • Baptism certificate, which shows date of birth and the place of baptism.
  • An insurance policy on the customer’s life which has been in force for at least two years and has the month, day and year of birth.
  • United States military or military dependent identification card.
  • Florida or out-of-state driver license, valid or expired.
  • Florida license record or identification card record.
  • Selective Service Registration (Draft Card).
  • Florida Vehicle Registration certificate (HSMV 83399, owner’s copy) obtained from the tax collector’s office where the customer’s vehicle was registered, Florida, or out-of-state registration certificate, if name and date of birth are shown.
  • Florida and out-of-state non-driver identification cards (state issued).
  • Receipt copy of your last Florida driver license issuance.
  • Immigration form I-571.
  • Federal form DD-214 (military record).
  • Marriage certificate.
  • Court order, which includes legal name.
  • A Florida voter registration card, which was issued at least 3 months previously.
  • Personal identification by an examiner or by a person well known to the examiner.
  • Family bible record or birth announcement in baby book.
  • Parent consent form of minor.
  • Out-of-country driver license or identification card, government issued.

If you are under the age of 18, you must also bring the following:

  • Proof of completion of a driver ed course: the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
  • A Parental Consent Form which must be notarized or signed in the presence of a Driver License Examiner
    -top-

What do the Florida DMV written exams cover?

The written tests consist of the following:

  • 20 multiple choice questions regarding the rules of the road. You must have at least 15 correct answers in order to pass and receive a learner permit.
  • 20 multiple choice questions regarding road signs. You must have at least 15 correct answers in order to pass and receive a learner permit.

You also must pass a vision test using an eye machine with 20/40 or better in both eyes, with or without corrective lenses.

-top-

Is this the official Florida online DMV written exam?

Yes, the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles has authorized LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com to provide the DMV’s written test online. The eligible ages for the online driver license written exams are 14, 15, 16, and 17. Any new driver 18 years or over taking the DMV Test must take it at a local DMV Office.

-top-

What are my driving privileges when I turn 15?

When you turn 15, you are eligible to earn a learner permit license if you have completed a driver ed course. You must hold your learner permit license for at least twelve months (or until you turn 18) before applying for a full license. Your learner license is valid for six years and is renewable. When you first receive your learner permit license, you are only permitted to drive from 6 am until 7 pm with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to the right of you. After three months, you are permitted to drive until 10 pm with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to the right of you. A learner permit does not give you the right to operate a motorcycle.

-top-

What are my driving privileges when I turn 16?

Once you turn 16, you are eligible to earn a full Florida driver license. In order to earn a full Florida driver license, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must have had a learner license for at least 12 months without a traffic conviction. Teens issued a traffic citation may elect to attend traffic school in order to avoid a conviction.
  • Your parent or guardian must certify that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, 10 hours of which occurred at night.

Once you receive your Florida driver license, you will only be permitted to drive between 6 am and 11 pm unless you have a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to you or you are driving to or from work.

-top-

What are my driving privileges once I turn 17?

Once you turn 17, you are eligible to earn a full Florida driver license. In order to earn a Florida driver license, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must have had a learner license for at least 12 months without a traffic conviction. Teens issued a traffic citation may elect to attend traffic school in order to avoid a conviction.
  • Your parent or guardian must certify that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, 10 hours of which occurred at night.

Once you receive your Florida driver license or if you received your Florida driver license prior to your 17th birthday, you will only be permitted to drive between 5 am and 1 am unless you have a licensed driver 21 years of age or older occupying the seat closest to you or you are driving to or from work.

-top-

What happens if I get a traffic ticket before I turn 18?

Teens issued a traffic ticket may elect to attend traffic school in order to avoid a conviction. You can only attend traffic school once every twelve months and only 5 times in your entire life. If you receive 6 points on your driving record within 12 months, your driving privileges will automatically be restricted to work purposes for 12 months or until you turn 18. If you receive additional points during your restricted period, the 12 months restriction period will be extended 90 days for each additional point. If you are under the age of 21, stopped by a law enforcement officer, and have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more, you will receive an administrative suspension of 6 months. It is imperative to avoid speeding tickets and other traffic tickets to maintain a good record for insurance and full driving privilege.

-top-

What are the benefits of attending a driver ed/driver improvement course?

Attending a driver ed/driver improvement course will result in the following:

  • No points will be assessed against your driving record.
  • Your insurance company cannot impose any additional premium or refuse to renew a policy for vehicle insurance solely because the insured committed a non-criminal traffic infraction with the exceptions of a second infraction within 18 months, a third infraction in 36 months, or exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 mph.
    -top-

What should I do if I am involved in a crash with an unattended vehicle?

If you are involved in a crash with an unattended vehicle, you must give the owner of the vehicle your name, address, and tag number in person if possible. If you are unable to find the owner, you must attach the information in a note to the object that was hit. You must also report the accident immediately to the appropriate law enforcement agency.

-top-

What does my school attendance record have to do with my driving?

According to the Florida Statutes, once a student accumulates 15 or more unexcused absences in a period of 90 calendar days will be unable to receive or maintain driving privileges.

-top-

What do cigarettes have to do with my driving?

In the state of Florida, if you are convicted of possession of tobacco products before the age of 18, you driving privileges will be suspended.

-top-

What is the Zero Tolerance rule?

The Zero Tolerance rule means that drivers under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more will have their Florida driver licenses suspended immediately for six months. A second offense will result in a one year suspension. Refusal to submit to blood alcohol testing will result in a twelve month driver license suspension. A second refusal will result in an eighteen month suspension.

-top-

Is automobile insurance required when I register my vehicle?

Yes. If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering it, you must have insurance. The state of Florida has two motor vehicle insurance laws. The first is the Financial Responsibility Law which requires operators and owners of motor vehicles to be financially responsible for injuries and/or damages they may cause to others when a traffic crash occurs. The second is the No-Fault Law which requires anyone who owns or has registered a vehicle in their name to carry Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability insurance. You must maintain insurance coverage during the entire time that a vehicle with four or more wheels is registered in your name.

-top-

What if I fail to keep insurance on my vehicle that I’ve registered in Florida?

The Florida DMV Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may suspend your driver license, including your vehicle tag and registration, for up to three years or until proof of required insurance is provided, whichever occurs first.

-top-

What should I do if I am involved in an automobile crash?

According to the Florida Driver’s Handbook, your responsibilities in the event of a traffic crash are:

  • Stop. If you are in a crash while driving, you must stop. If anyone is hurt, you must get help. You must also be ready to give your name, address, and vehicle registration number and show your driver license to others involved in the crash.
  • Report the crash. If the crash causes injury, death, or property damage, it must be reported. Call the local police, the Florida Highway Patrol, or the county sheriff’s office. If the crash involves a charge of driving under the influence (DUI) or results in death, injury, or property damage to the extent a wrecker must tow a vehicle, the officer will fill out a report. If property damage appears to be over $100 and no report is written by an officer, you must make a written report of the crash to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 10 days. The officer will provide you with a copy of the form for your records.
  • Move your car if it is blocking traffic. If your car is blocking the flow of traffic, you must move it. If you cannot move it yourself, you must get help or call a tow truck. This is true any time your vehicle is blocking the flow of traffic whether it has been involved in a crash or not.
  • Appear in court. If you are charged in a driving crash, you may have to go to court. The officer who comes to the scene of the crash will file charges against any driver who violated a traffic law. Anyone who is charged will have a chance to explain to the court what happened. The court will then decide what the penalty is. Anyone who is not charged with violating the law may have to come to court as a witness. If you are found at fault in a collision where anyone is injured and transported to a medical treatment facility or it is your second collision in a two-year period, you will be required by law to attend a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course. The traffic school that conducts this course can be found in the yellow pages of your local telephone book under Driving Instruction.

A driver convicted of leaving the scene of a crash involving death or personal injury will have his or her license revoked. The driver is also subject to criminal penalties.

-top-